Lynn Rockwell

Meet Lynn Rockwell.  Lynn is the mother of 3 grown children and is the wife of one funny husband!  She has lived in Flower Mound for many, many years and has deep ties to the community.  Lynn works for Therapy Partners of North Texas as a marketing liaison connecting them with other doctor’s offices.  After work, you can find Lynn running to a book club meeting (she is in several book clubs) or doing some volunteer work with the Women of Flower Mound.

Welcome to The Faces of Flower Mound, Lynn!  We are excited to highlight you.

Please tell us a little bit about your family. My husband Dave and I have been married 33 years this fall. We met in college and have lived in IL, IA, CA and TX. We have 3 grown children and a daughter-in-law. They all live nearby in Dallas. They attended FMHS and we enjoyed attending all of their concerts, recitals and sporting events over the years. The boys went on to graduate from Oklahoma State University, and our daughter graduated from Texas Tech. She now teaches in LISD.  Our oldest son is with a Recruiting firm and our youngest works for The Dallas Stars.

Please tell us about your current business/career. What do you love most about what you do?  I handle the sales and marketing for Therapy Partners of North Texas. The therapist owned-and-operated group has 11 clinics. I do the marketing for 6 of these clinics across the northern part of DFW.  My favorite part of the position is the interaction with each medical practice, their providers and staff.  I love to educate them on the benefits of physical therapy and watch as their patients reach their health goals.  It’s exciting to work alongside a group of therapists that are willing to meet with the doctors and share their knowledge on treatments and techniques that are ever evolving and provide amazing benefits to patients needing therapy services. It’s a fun, family-friendly environment where a patient’s health is the #1 priority.

Q: What inspired you or led you to your current career?

A: I’ve always been a people person and been interested in the fields of science and medicine. My degree is in Speech Pathology & Audiology, but my first career was being a flight attendant. That job taught me a lot about customer service, sales and marketing. After our kids were older, I went back into the workforce at a doctor’s office and later as an office manager for a PT clinic. When a marketing position became available there, I applied and got the position. I already knew the ins and outs of the group, their great reputation and the services they provided, so it was easy to share all of this with potential referral sources.

Q: What is the most unusual job you ever had?

A: I drove an ice cream truck when I was a teenager! My parents owned the business that we ran out of our home. We had 3 Cushman carts that were fitted with freezers and I drove them all around town.  I STILL have that song in my head sometimes.

Q: What are a couple of your favorite restaurants in our community and what do you love to eat/drink there?

A: We love to go to Anamia’s for margaritas and I will eat just about any food on their menu. It’s also one of those places that when we go there we always see people that we know. I also like Luna Grill’s Apple Walnut Salad with chicken when I’m being “healthy”.

Q: How long have you lived or worked in our community?

A: I have lived in Flower Mound since 2004. I started working full time in our community in 2008.

Q: Where did you grow up?

A: I grew up in Crystal Lake, IL which is a quiet western suburb outside of Chicago. We lived on a dead-end street by the lake and had the woods behind our house. It was quite an idyllic place to grow up.

Q: Was there anything interesting/challenging/unusual you want to share that shaped you into who you are today?

A: I think growing up with parents who had immigrant parents has shaped me into who I am today. They were very proud of being American citizens, yet true to their ancestral roots. Because of this, I was exposed to several cultures and have never been prejudiced against people of different races, religion or color. We were expected to behave and be proud of who we were because we were “representing our family”. We were taught to treat others the way we’d like to be treated.

Q: Do you have a hobby or interest that you enjoy?

A: I like spending time with family and friends relaxing and enjoying their company. I also like to read, sew, garden, craft, and travel. When I want to think and relax I play the piano.

Q: Who is the most interesting person you’ve met here in our community?

A: The first person that comes to mind is a neighbor of mine, Karen. She invited me into her home for bible study one year and that turned into 11 more years of friendship and fellowship before they moved last year. She and her husband had 2 cats and a therapy dog that she took to see patients at local hospitals. She ran marathons, had the most beautiful flowers and was always helping and cooking for others. She loved this town and knew so many people. She herself had overcome many hardships over the years and shared her stories with others as a way to inspire hope.

Q: If you could travel anywhere in the world right now, where would it be? And why?

A: I would travel to Italy. My father’s family is from there and we still have relatives in several towns. I’d love to explore the different regions, historical towns, food and wine, and the culture that is part of my heritage.

Q: What is one of your favorite movies? TV shows? What is the first movie you remember seeing in the theater?

A: I don’t have one favorite movie. And the current TV shows don’t hold my attention for very long. I do remember watching the old classic movies with famous actors and actresses with my dad when I was young. I also remember going to a double feature at the local drive-in theater that was playing Chitty Chitty Bang Bang and Mary Poppins. It stands out in my mind because we went in our PJ’s, had sleeping bags in the back of the family station wagon, and got to have as much popcorn, candy and pop as we wanted that night.

Q: Where do you love to shop in Flower Mound?

A: I seem to spend a lot of time at Kirkland’s, Hobby Lobby and Home Depot!

Q: What is something on your bucket list?

A: I’d like to travel to Alaska and see the Northern Lights.

Q: What is go-to band or favorite music when you can’t decide what to listen to?

A: Chicago or The Eagles.

Q: What current / former local business makes you the most nostalgic about Denton County?

A: We used to go to Chili’s a lot with the kids when they were younger, especially after games.

Q: What is your favorite thing or something unique about Denton County?

A: It intrigues me how much this community has steadily grown and changed over the years; even since we’ve moved here it has flourished. Did you know that in 1980 the population was 4400? In 1990, it was 15,500 (more than 3x larger) and in 2000 it had reached 50,700!

Q: Where do you see yourself in 5 or 10 years?

A: Five years from now we may still be in FM. Ten years from now I see myself still in the DFW area somewhere. As long as our kids all live here we will be in the Metroplex.

Q: (Even for friends and family) What is something interesting that most people don’t know about you?

A: When I’m the only one at home, I will sometimes play the piano and sing loudly as though I’m performing for a crowd.

Q: What 3 words or phrases come to mind when you think of the word HOME?

A: Family, Love, Holidays.

Q: What is the most beautiful place you have ever been?

A: The most beautiful place I have ever been in the island of Moorea in the French Polynesian Islands.

Q: If you were cast in a movie and could choose your costar, who would it be? Who would you want to play “you”?

A: I’d choose Kevin Costner as my costar. I’d like Zooey Deschanel to play me.

Q: Favorite month? holiday? and best single day on the calendar?

A: September. Christmas. Anniversary of my First Date with Dave.

Q: What would you rate a 10 out of 10?

A: Real gelato.

Q: Who inspires you to be better?

A: My girlfriends.

Q: What is one or two of your favorite smells?

A: Gardenia flowers and my Dad’s spaghetti sauce.

Q: Are you involved in anything or any community groups that you really enjoy outside of work and family life?

A: I’m involved in church, 2 book clubs, Women of Flower Mound, bible study, and couples dinner/game night group.

Q: What advice would you give a crowd of people (general crowd or crowd of young people)?

A: Never stop chasing your dreams.

Q: Do you have a favorite quote or saying?

A: Don’t shine so that others can see you, shine so that through you, others see Him.

Q: What 3 words do you think your favorite people would use to describe you?

A: To describe me: Loyal, God-girl, Giving.

Q: Who would you like to nominate for this project, The Faces of Flower Mound?

A: Janice Paris.

Q: What book have you enjoyed reading the most during the last year?

A: Most recent favorite book: This Tender Land by William Kent Krueger.

Q: If you had a full-time staff member that was fully paid for who would you choose? Chef, Housekeeper, Driver, Coach, Physical Fitness Trainer or Nanny?

A: A Chef to make me healthy meals and have dinner ready when I get home from work!

 

Leave a Reply